Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls Kickstarter

Ok, I know this is a Traveller RPG blog but I wanted to mention the Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls Kickstarter that is running at the moment. TnT was the main fantasy RPG I played in my teens and in some ways has influenced ‘The Fantasy Traveller’ posts on this blog. The same people behind the original TnT (the notably infamous Ken St. Andre, Rick Loomis, Liz Danforth, Bear Peters and Steve Crompton) have put together a kickstarter project to publish a deluxe version of the rules, along with a number of milestone rewards if the project reaches sufficient funding.

At the time of writing, the project has reached and surpassed its second milestone at $60,000 and seems well on its way to its third, at $75,000! There are over a thousand backers (including myself) which mirrors the resurgent interest in the game and ruleset.

I always enjoyed TnT due to its simple to understand rules, easy character creation process and tons of long-lasting solo adventures, that could keep you going for weeks if not months. Being in the UK, I was able to pick up the mono-printed versions at a reasonable price from my local Games Workshop shop (before they become a ‘house’ store and the variety of games went). Oddly enough I always preferred the mono print versions, due to the fantastic line artwork by all the artists that contributed work. In addition, there was always a degree of humour and ‘wierdness’ in the books that emphasised the key point behind TnT – having fun. The simplicity of the rules helped you to use your imagination – if there wasn’t a rule, then my DM would make something up and I would have to think my way out of the situation. The ‘saving roll’ was generic enough to be applied to a great many situations.

Rulebooks are great, I love reading the amounts of material that have been written for Classic Traveller for example, but something I like to drop back to occasionally is a simple set of rules. I dont have much free time (real life etc) and dipping in and out of a game for me, should be easy and not have to involve re-reading lots of heavy rules sets. I want to be able to pick up a rule book, quickly refresh my memory and get straight back into my game. Classic Traveller fulfills my sci-fi interests, TnT does this for my fantasy gaming needs. I think DT&T will update the rules set and adventures quite nicely!

I think this is my point – to me gaming should be about the story and the adventure, because lets face it, you don’t see a bunch of adventurers in their local tavern talking about the individual rule that allowed them to dodge past that deadly trap?

So, whether or not you’ve played TnT before or not, why not back the kickstarter project at Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls before the project fundraising window closes on February the 4th?

In addition, there is an official site which can be found at: Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls.

Have fun and happy gaming!

About AlegisDownport

Musings on the Traveller RPG world, technology, astronomy and digital art.
This entry was posted in Classic Traveller, Tunnels and Trolls and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls Kickstarter

  1. Liz Danforth says:

    Thank you for your kind words and sharing memories of playing T&T as well as Traveller! As you know, I’ve spent a fair amount of ink doing art for both, and even recently for Marc Miller’s reboot. A love for adventures of the imagination crosses all genres. Thank you for supporting us in word and deed!

  2. SSCrompton says:

    Hey thanks for the kind words! You may or may not know, but Liz Danforth and I (Steve Crompton) have a connection to Traveller that goes all the way back to the 1980’s! Both she and I did numerous illustrations for Traveller and in fact, Marc Miller has hired us both to work on the new version he had on Kickstarter just a few months ago. So its a big happy RPG family! Come on over and pledge a dollar, just to show your support for a couple of starving artists – Thanks so much! – SS Crompton

  3. techastro says:

    Liz / Steve – thank you for the great feedback, its truly an honour for your names to appear on my blog! I’ve already made a pledge to support the project (as well as being an early bird!), so I hope this will encourage some people to the cause! Thank you again, Steve

Leave a Reply

